Skip To Main Content

Alumni Council

Hero - Image Slideshow

Welcome back, SJS alumni!
Alumni Weekend
Claggett and Kemp Hall
Washington, DC Alumni Reception

After Commencement, all graduates are welcomed into the Saint James School Alumni Association. The Alumni Council, which is made up of 8-15 elected members chosen from the Alumni Association, is the governing body of the Alumni Association.

The Alumni Council serves “to create, build, and support relationships among current students, alumni, faculty, staff, and friends, in support of the School.” They do this by attending events hosted by Saint James, setting a philanthropic example, and encouraging fellow alumni to do the same.

The Council meets four times throughout the year, and is comprised of alumni of the School representing a range of graduation years. The Senior Prefect, Headmaster, and members of the Office of Development and Alumni Relations attend meetings as ex-officio members. Members are committed to a three-year term.

If you are interested in learning more about how you can be a member of the Alumni Council, or have questions or ideas for the Council, please email the Alumni Council or Heidi Frye

Alumni Council Members


Kimberley Ann Medrano '04, President
Meghan D. Pennington '03, Vice President
Callan Spicher '10, Secretary


Christian E. Asam '92
Zachary A. Clouse '10
Barbara L. Dolson '84
Daniel S. King '98 (Past President)
William E. Pennington, Jr. '70
H. Jay Whitehouse '75

Saint James Chapel

Alumni Council By-Laws

The Saint James School Alumni Association shall:

  • create a welcoming and supportive alumni community to foster life-long engagement with Saint James School.
  • provide leadership support to the School and its Headmaster.
  • offer alumni the opportunity for continued growth and development.

Read the by-laws

Alumni Council Awards

During Alumni Weekend, the Alumni Council hosts a dinner and awards ceremony in honor of SJS alumni. Three awards may be presented: the Alumni Award, the Kerfoot Society for Distinguished Faculty, and the Exceptional Service Award—all sponsored by the Alumni Council. Each year, alumni are invited to nominate deserving candidates. Below is information about each award.